Des Plaines Park District

Lifeguard Training Course

Lifeguard training at Mystic Waters

National Pool & Waterpark Lifeguard Training Course
Lifeguard classes available Spring 2019

 

Now Hiring Summer Staff, Be a part of the Platinum Lifeguard Team at the Des Plaines Park District!

Job information and Requirements
• Minimum age 15 years old by June 1, 2019
• Starting wage: $10.50/hour
• Average 30–40 hours/week, 6–10 hours/day
• Ability to work flexible shifts, including evenings, weekends, from May 25–September 2, 2019
• Certified Lifeguard Training, including CPR, AED, Oxygen Support, First Aid and an online class
• Recognize and rectify potential aquatic emergencies, and decrease the occurrence of emergency situations
• Participate in routine in-service training to ensure consistency and maintain an exceptional standard of care
• Apply online at dppakrs.org/jobs and register for a training session (see below)

National Pool & Waterpark Lifeguard Training Course for ages 15+
This course includes water safety and rescue techniques, CPR, First Aid, AED certification, oxygen support training and an online class.

Lifeguard Training Course Prerequisites
• 15 years of age or older by June 1, 2019
• Tread water for 1 minute using legs only.
• Swim 100 yards continuously, using front crawl or breast stroke.
• Retrieve a 10 lb brick from a depth of 12 feet, and swim to the side.

Lifeguard class fees
A) New candidates: $50
B) Returning lifeguards: $25

Friday, March 22, 6:00–9:00p, PLCC Prairie Room
Saturday, March 23, 9:00a–5:00p, Rosemont Pool
Sunday, March 24, 9:00a–5:00p, Rosemont Pool
Codes: A) #467109-1     B) #467109-2

Friday, April 26, 6:00–9:00p, PLCC Prairie Room
Saturday, April 27, 9:00a–5:00p, Rosemont Pool
Sunday, April 28, 9:00a–5:00p, Rosemont Pool
Codes: A) #567109-1     B) #567109-2

Friday, May 17, 6:00–9:00p, PLCC Prairie Room
Saturday, May 18, 9:00a–5:00p, Rosemont Pool
Sunday, May 19, 9:00a–5:00p, Rosemont Pool
Codes: A) #567109-3     B) #567109-4

Monday, June 3, 10:00a–5:00p, Leisure Center Board Room
Tuesday, June 4, 10:00a–5:00p, Iroquois Pool
Wednesday, June 5, 10:00a–5:00p, Iroquois Pool
Codes: A) #167109-1     B) #167109-2

Monday, June 24, 10:00a–5:00p, Leisure Center Board Room
Tuesday, June 25, 10:00a–5:00p, Iroquois Pool
Wednesday, June 26, 10:00a–5:00p, Iroquois Pool
Codes: A) #167109-3     B) #167109-4

For more information about becoming a lifeguard, call Aquatics Manager Matt Hartnett: 847-391-5700, or email Matt.Hartnett@DPParks.org